Our Twenty Year Playlist

I said “I do” twenty years ago to the love of my life.
She said “Me too.” And we kissed.

Goose bumps? You bet. And I mean right now.

It’s hard to believe how quickly twenty years went by.
Really freaky. In a good way, though.

Seems like yesterday I had the 19 Year Itch.

I would summarize our 20 year marriage as simply:

Born of love
Grown out of sacrifice
Shaped by commitment
Evolving together
Enduring forever

We transcend the small stuff, lean on each other through the tough stuff, and fill our lives with everything in between. Like music.

Our musical tastes diverge substantially.  While Jinny keep a more current beat and claims she moves like Jagger, I am more often likely to be daydreaming in One Particular Harbor.

But there are a few tunes that speak symbolically of our relationship. Songs that have deep meaning.

It’s Our Twenty Year Playlist.

Melt With You (Modern English)
I’ll stop the world and melt with you.
One of our favorites from when we dated.  It’s the perfect
expression of being perpetually and hopelessly in love.

Have I Told You Lately (Van Morrison)
Fill my heart with gladness, take away my sadness,
ease my troubles that’s what you do.

Our wedding song and a special way to check in.
The real foundation of “for better and worse”.

You Raise Me Up (Josh Groban)
I am strong when I am on your shoulders.
You raise me up to more than I can be.

An enduring expression of the spirit of service that
binds us together, and makes us better.

100 Years (Five for Fighting)
I’m 33 for a moment. Still the man, but you see I’m a ‘they’.
A kid on the way, babe. A family on my mind.

In equal measure, we are the reason for – and the result of our evolution.
22, 33, heading into 45. Never a wish better than this.

You’re My Home (Billy Joel)
I need you in my house, you’re my home.
We are cornerstones in each others’ lives with an amazing foundation
built for over 20 years. Wherever we are together – that is home.

Arguably not hip.  Maybe too acoustic.  Not very dance-able.

But for some reason, I keep hitting shuffle.
And I can’t think of a song that’s missing.

