Son of a Son

AJ's Card

As the son of a son of a sailor I went out on the sea for adventure…

The sea’s in my veins, my tradition remains…
~ Jimmy Buffett, 1978

My youngest son AJ is ten.

Last Saturday, without any prompting or assistance, he spent hours creating a special Mother’s Day card for Jinny – my lovely wife and prime suspect in my 19 year itch.

He made a pop-up card. Not on the iPad.

Green stealth fighter mounted atop a field of pink flowers on a brown background – perfectly fiskared to enable the pink #1 MOM heart inside to spring to life as the card opens.

But the real heart within the card, was a perfectly penned limerick.

There once was a mom named Jinny
Who was loved and very skinny
Who on Mother’s Day
We do whatever she’ll say
I very much hope the chores will be mini.
~ AJ, 2012

He’s half Irish, half Bard, and not very fond of chores.

But he’s 100% full of heart, and poetry courses through his veins.
He’s the son of a son.

And I can’t wait until Father’s Day!

