11 Reasons I Run

Why I Run

I have been running since 6th grade.

In high school, I ran a 5K in the mid-16’s and the 800M in under 2 minutes.

At one time, I ranked in the top 10 runners in NJ for a Division 1 school.

Back then, running was not only about competing, it was my social network.  You would have given me +K for running on Klout.

Fast forward about 25 years.  I’m certainly not as quick.  I sweat a heck of a lot more.  I periodically need Physical Therapy.  I almost never run with anyone else.  I still feel like vomiting before a race.

There was something about this morning’s run that inspired me to capture why I still do this.

The pros you see, are head and shoulders above the cons.  If you’re a runner, you get it.  If you aren’t, hopefully you have ways to achieve similar mind-body-spirit benefits.

And while reason #9 isn’t a universal ambition, I suspect you can imagine an indulgence that is personally motivating.

Without further ado, here are the 11 reasons why I run.

  1. Stoke Metabolism
  2. Curb Blood Pressure
  3. Solve Problems (amazing moments of clarity)
  4. Think Creatively (and poetically)
  5. Connect Spiritually
  6. Cheat Old Age (well my joints are not exactly on board with this)
  7. Escape Chaos/Stress
  8. Elevate Mood (yes, a natural “high”)
  9. Enable my Love Affair with Beer
  10. Vanity
  11. Gain Perspective

Unfortunately, I didn’t write this when I was running. 
What did I miss? Why do you run?


4 thoughts on “11 Reasons I Run

  1. Great post. I agree with everything except I would move Enable my Love Affair with Beer ahead of Cheat Old Age.

  2. I am with you on most everything, but the number one reason I run is to keep up with my kids. I want to be the mom that can mix it up with the kids comfortably.

Comments are closed.